Amid peace overtures, India, Pak to discuss Indus water-sharing treaty: Why the agreement needs a revisit


What is the Indus Water Treaty? 

Inked in the year 1960 by former Prime Minister Jawaharlal Nehru and his Pakistani counterpart, then-President Ayub Khan, the Indus Water Treaty is an agreement structured to designate control over the six rivers – Indus, Jhelum, Chenab, Ravi, Beas and Sutlej – that make up the Indus river system (IRS) and run from Tibet across the Himalayan ranges to the Arabian sea south of Karachi. 

Read more..

No tags 0